Sticks of Love Ep 9

The prison walls dripped with moisture; rats and mice scattered across the floor as Eric shooed them away. Resting his head on his knees, a sob escaped his hoarse voice. His cell-mate, a creepy creature named Chloe Bun-Bun, called to him from the other corner.
“Why are you crying now?” Its voice was nasally and sounded like it was speaking from the back of its throat.
Eric looked up,.”I lost my favourite button. We were driving here when that Store-Clerk-” He clenched his fist and grit his teeth. “He told me I couldn’t take my jacket to prison, I had to put on a uniform. Of course I refused, who would agree to wear such horrendous clothing willingly? He said he would be satisfied with just my jacket, but I wouldn’t. When we arrived, some guards told me I had to take my jacket off, but as I did,” Eric sobbed louder,”my favourite button fell off!”
“Very tragic,” said Chloe Bun-Bun.
“What are you anyway? Some sort of creepy shadow monster? I’m honestly not certain you are even human.”
“I am Chloe Bun-Bun.”
Eric stared at the floor again.
“I hate going to prison, it has been twice now in the last few weeks. And it all has to do with that Store-Clerk. I am really going to let someone beat that guy up one day.”
“Come with me,” Chloe Bun-Bun spoke again.
Eric looked over at it. “Go where?”
Chloe Bun-Bun stood and walked to the wall, and right through it. Eric gasped, but then Chloe Bun-Bun showed his head again.
“Is that a secret passage?” Eric jumped up excitedly, tripping over his untied shoes. He came to the entrance and realized there was a hole that he hadn’t seen in the shadows. Chloe Bun-Bun was already inside, and Eric soon followed suit.

James pulled on his jacket and boots, he had to go out to look for Eric again. He had spared calling the police and his neighbours this time, due to the fact that last time Eric had returned perfectly fine. James tossed around the idea that he had a sweetheart, but the chances were infinitesimal. A girl seeing Eric as a good husband would have to be weirder than him. James train of thoughts came to a startling jolt when he remembered that Lydia had been dating his little brother only a couple days ago. As he was about to leave the house he heard footsteps behind him, Lydia was there hurrying to put her shoes on.
“Hey, what’s up?” James asked. He felt tense and comforted seeing her, since his loneliness was temporarily soothed, but the contrast between Margaret was too large for him to be entirely at ease. He had talked with Lydia only the other night for a few hours.
“I was in the mood for a walk, mind if I join you?” Lydia responded with a sympathetic look.
James looked at the floor and mumbled, “It isn’t a leisurely walk. I am looking for Eric. You can come if you want, but I am afraid I won’t be very good company.”
Lydia laughed. “You’re always good company, James. I don’t think you can help it.” She looped her arm in his and they walked along together at a quick pace, looking on every playground and in every tree, but couldn’t find a trace of Eric.
“Last time, he said he was in prison,” James said.
“Yes he did. Should we check the prison?” Lydia asked.
“It is better than wandering around uselessly.”
They returned home. James opened the car door for Lydia, and they went together into the police department. The department could tell them nothing of Eric, but told them that it was possible he was in a big prison outside of the town. It could, however, be hard to get to see a prisoner. Thanking him, they left and went there. The prison was a sprawling grey mess nestled in between two mountains at the end of a long winding road, and they didn’t have access to enter. They were told to schedule a visit, but Eric wasn’t on their list of prisoners. So James and Lydia returned home.
“That was a waste of time.” James lay down on the couch.
“I had a fantastic time.” Lydia sat close beside him. “So what now?”
“I have no idea, I guess I will just wait for him to come home.”
“What about in the meantime?”
“Hmm?” He sat up, and looked her in the eyes. “Is there something you want to do?”
Lydia looked in his eyes. “We could go to dinner? Bowling? Just stay here and talk.” She moved the slightest bit closer.
James leaned back. “This is getting kind of strange, Lydia. I have to use the washroom. Goodnight.” James rushed up the stairs and Lydia frowned.
“How much longer is this going to take?” she said despondently.

Eric and Chloe Bun-Bun had been traversing the tunnel for well over an hour, and Eric didn’t know how much more he could take. He had asked where they were going so many times the phrase had lost meaning. His mouth was dry, and his stomach rumbled in protest with every step he took. Chloe Bun-Bun forged on without delay. At one point he thought he could see light ahead of him, but convincing himself it was his mind playing tricks on him, he lowered his head. But, the light got brighter as they approached, and Eric had to accept that it was real. He became very excited, and rushed ahead to see what it was. He came to a part of the tunnel that had a small gap in the wall. Looking through, Eric saw the Store Clerk. He was sitting at a desk writing away at some documents. Eric resisted the urge to yell at him. The door opened in his office, but Eric couldn’t see who had entered. Store Clerk looked at the door with his bored expression.
“Green-Frenchie-Not-Frenchie.” Store Clerk said, his expression the same as ever.
“Hello,” a voice came from the other side of the room, a jovial voice that was pleasant to listen to.
“You are taking quite the big risk coming here,” Store Clerk continued.
GFNF chuckled. “Not as big as it seems. Your hands are tied here. You see, I brought leaves.”
Store Clerk’s mouth sighed in exhaustion.
Eric wondered what leaves had to do with anything.
“I wanted to talk to you,” The GFNF said cheerfully. Eric wished he could see him, he could only see half of the picture as it was.
“Your attempts to stop me have become quite troublesome, and I promise not to harm you or your sister ever again if you leave me alone.”
“Nope,” Store Clerk replied.
“Why? Revenge? Because I cursed Margaret? Seriously, stopping me won’t reverse that. How sad that such a valuable ally hates me so much. With your intellect you should know that you would stop me much better by teaming up with me.”
“Yep,” Store Clerk replied.
“So you will join me?”
“Nope.”
“You’re as stubborn as ever, but I will be back and I will destroy your entire home.” The door opened and shut again with sounds of evil laughter.
Store Clerk sat musing for a moment then picked up the phone on his desk. “Release Eric Sticks,” he said, then he hung up the phone and tapped his pencil on the table. “I will catch you yet GFNF.”
Eric ran back to his cell as fast as his legs would carry him, and arrived twenty minutes later to the guard arriving at his cell. Chloe Bun-Bun had stayed behind walking slowly. Eric, soaked in sweat, smiled at the guard. “Can I help you?”

James sat in bathroom against the door, staring at the rubber duck laying on the floor. He wanted to talk to Lydia, but he felt guilty whenever he tried. It felt like it was to soon after Margaret to even look at another girl, but Margaret had left him confused and he felt comforted around Lydia. He sighed and leaned his head on the door. He wasn’t sure how he felt, but he was certain he didn’t want to confront anyone right now.

2 thoughts on “Sticks of Love Ep 9

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started